Michigan Learner's Permit Checklist
Once you have completed your drivers education course, you will be ready to apply for your Michigan learner’s permit. You must:
1: Download and study your practice test
2: Prove that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
3: Via a local SOS branch office
The learner's permit in Michigan is part of the drivers education program, but you can also get one after age 18 if you have never completed drivers education. Here’s the process for both young teenagers and older adults to get a learner’s permit.
Online education can be found here.
You must be 14 years and 8 months old to get the Level 1 Learners License. You need to complete Segment 1 of a driver`s education course which requires 50 hours of driving, including 10 at night. You must also:
- Take a written test
- Have paperwork for the permit
- Identification and proof of age
- Proof of residence address
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Signature of parent on application
- Payment for $25 application fee
You will then complete Segment 2 of the course once you turn 16 and take a road test. There`s a vehicle inspection, closed course and a 10-minute road test. Study for the test with this guide.
If you pass, you'll get a Level 2 license, and you`ll need:
- Your Level 1 Learner's License
- Your Segment 2 Certificate of Completion
- The Road Skills Test endorsement
- Parent's signature
- Pay the $25 fee
If Over 18
You can get what is called a TIP or a Temporary Instructing Permit for those over 18 that meet the following:
- Haven't completed a Graduated Driver License Program
- Have a U.S.-issued drivers license that's been expired for at least four years
- Have an expired foreign-issued license
- Have never been issued a license
You will need a TIP for 30 days before you apply for a full license. You will be able to practice with a licensed driver. After 180 days the TIP will expire.
To get a TIP:
- Visit the office
- Pass the vision test
- Pass the written test
- Present your Social Security card
- Present proper identification
- Pay $25
Documents Needed May Include:
Your Social Security Number
- Social Security card or other Social Security Administration document containing your name and Social Security number.
- W-2 or 1099 form
- Pay stub containing your name and Social Security number
- U.S. military ID card containing photo and
- Social Security number (DD-2, DD-1173 or CAC card.)
- Letter of ineligibility from the Social Security Administration
- Certified birth certificate with a raised seal issued by a U.S. or U.S. territory government office
- Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card
- Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561)
- Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-570 or N-578)
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the U.S
- Department of State (FS-240, DS-1350 or FS-545)
- U.S. Census Record
- Out-of-state ID
- Marriage license issued in the U.S.
- Divorce decree issued in the U.S.
- Photo ID card
- U.S. military ID card
Proof of Michigan Residency
- Utility bill or credit card bill (90 days)
- Bank statements
- School transcript
- Mortgage or lease agreement
- Paystub with address of employer
- Insurance Policy
- Government documents
Find out more about drivers education in Michigan here.